Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

12:18 p.m. - Monday, Aug. 20, 2007
Big Storm II -- The Freakin' Tiresomeness of It All
We had another storm last night — lots of lightning and thunder, then the clouds opened. I couldn't sleep. I got out of bed at 2:00 a.m. to go down to the basement and check on my new basement waterproofing system ... and I stopped at the top of the stairs as I saw water dripping out of the wall, just beneath the panels that hide the bathtub plumbing. I pulled off one of the panels and discovered much drippiness coming from high, high above, far above the plumbing. So evidently I've got a roof leak now. "Just tell the claims agent when he comes to your house," my insurance people told me this morning.

The Big Storm last Wednesday evening was exciting, but the aftermath is tiresome as hell.

When the tree fell on my house, I was just on the other side of the wall, watching water stream from under a closed window sash and soak through the towels I had pressed against it. I heard a thud and the house shook. I didn't realize it was a tree hitting the house — I thought the wind alone was shaking my very foundations. That's when I said to myself, "Self, you'd better go down in the basement." So I did. But the dogs wouldn't come down; they don't do stairs. So I said to myself, "Self, it's just downright low and cowardly to let your dogs die all alone up there," so I went back up to die with them.

However, as it turns out, we didn't die.

Not even Outside Dog, who, fortunately, is afraid of thunder and crawls under the shed at the first rumble, so she was safe from both hail and falling trees.

I had so been looking forward to having my basement waterproofing finished, my porch renovation finished soon, so that at last I could have my house back and not have strangers tramping through it day after day ... and now it looks as if it will be nothing but strangers and more strangers tramping on endlessly through my house and yard, fixing roofs, soffits, fascia, gutters, siding, fences, windows and ... God, it's so freakin' tiresome. And the basement waterproofing system needs a whole lot of what the waterproofing guy calls "fine-tuning."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!