Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

6:49 p.m. - Friday, Feb. 02, 2007
Cold!
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Call that "nifty things you can do to a photo that didn't come out even though you risked your life to get it and no, of course not really, what do you think I am � stupid?" That's called the "sketch" effect, and I just wish I could sketch like that.

When Dog#2 and I went out for our walk, it was twenty degrees F, with a powerful wind that swept up the snow from the ground and waved it in sheets over the fields like a bad-tempered cleaning lady.

...Oh, check out that simile! Folks, that is literature.

We crossed the empty field and scrambled up the steep railroad grade to the track level. We'd been up there only a minute when I heard the whistle of a train in the distance � far away, probably a couple of miles, but I have a very healthy respect for trains. And Rule #1 about trains is: They're always going faster than you think. So I immediately made arrangements to get the hell away from there. We scrambled half-way back down the grade. Then I waited for the train to come so I could snap a picture. Froze my toes waiting for it. Then the damn picture didn't come out.

Now I'm cold and I'm tired and it's going to be even colder tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!