Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

9:38 a.m. - Monday, Sept. 20, 2004
To Froggy, Who Will Go No More A-Courtin'
�How odd,� I thought. �Those cut weeds look just like frogs� legs.� Then I noticed the staring eyes in the severed head.

I manage to avoid so many little toads and frogs when I�m using the low-slung grass mower that I never thought I would kill one with the high-set brush mower. I never saw him until it was too late, I swear. Now I�m going to feel guilty for the next ten years.

***************

Fear no more the heat of the sun,
Nor the furious winter�s rages,
� Although you never feared them, did you, since frogs hibernate in winter �
�All right, then � fear no more the garter snake�s jaws
Or the fox�s claws
(Do foxes eat amphibians?)
Home art gone, and ta�en thy insects.
Golden lads and girls all must,
As frogs, dogs, and goldenrod, come to dust.

Fear no more the human impulse to neaten:
Thou art past the mower�s stroke.
Care no more to eat, and not be eaten:
To thee a slither is as a croak.
The scepter, learning, physic, and diners on frogs� legs must
Put down their forks, and come to dust.

No planned development thy habitat take,
No industrial discharge thou three-headed make,
No garter, rattle, coral or black snake swallow thee,
No gasoline-powered brush mower follow thee.
Quiet consummation have,
And wildflowers hide thy grave.

I�m at work. I can feel the creativity dying in me, the life and soul oozing out of me minute by minute. I wonder if this is how a frog feels when it�s in the snake�s belly?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!