Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

9:02 p.m. - Monday, Jul. 05, 2004
The Triumph of Hope Over Experience

That's my house, with lilies, sunflowers and allium blooming in the front yard.

I have this persistent fantasy that when I have days off, I'll have peace and quiet, and leisure time. Again and again I have spent vacations working myself to death, and still I have this fantasy. To the very end of a long weekend, I have this fantasy. It's 9:08 PM and I have to get up at 5:00 AM tomorrow, and still I have this fantasy that long, sweet hours of peace and leisure lie before me.

I do so hate to go to bed on the last day of a vacation, or a long weekend like this. Going to bed is admitting that tomorrow is going to come. Tomorrow begins the endless repetition of boring, uncomfortable train rides, boring, frustrating hours at the office, and the work, work, work, work, work that it takes to maintain a household full of dogs and a lawn and a garden.

Just oozing self-pity here.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!