Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

8:47 p.m. - Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004
You Call This a Vacation?
I'll be so glad to get back to work so I can REST.

This morning: to the bank, to the grocery story, then to HOME DEPOT to get all the stuff I need for this wacky project I have in mind of installing two outdoor dusk-to-dawn lights on either side of my garage door, in place of the single floodlight that's now hanging down from under the eaves. "Wacky" project, I say, because I know only the rudiments of wiring, because I've never installed conduit before, because this involves SPATIAL planning and I am spatially retarded, because I will have to cut holes in the walls of my garage, through the aluminum siding.

I think I am going to wait until my next vacation to do this wacky project. Maybe I'll just leave the stuff sitting out in the garage and never do it. Hey! That sounds like a good plan to me!

Then this afternoon I tried out a pattern-making software program I just bought. It's a sewing pattern, but you download it from a CD, enter your own measurements, like 20 of them, which is not only tiresome but DEPRESSING, and then the program generates a pattern based on your own measurements. You get to select the type of neckline, collar or no collar, length of sleeves, width of skirt (it's a dress pattern), zipper or buttons — then you send it to print and it prints out on standard pieces of paper which you then have to piece together, about 60 pieces.

And after all that, I decided I had better try the princess seams instead of the side darts, so I have to run the whole damn thing over again tomorrow.

Then I went out and washed the car, because it was, like, 40 degrees today!

Then I played with the idiot Labradors in the backyard until my feet started to freeze.

Then I went to Wal-mart (gag) for a zipper for this dress I'm going to make.

Then I went to White Castle and got a bag of hamburgers for dinner.

Now I'm tired as hell.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!