Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

7:12 p.m. - Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2003
Have I Mentioned That I'm Tired?
Here it is Wednesday, and I don't feel well-rested. I feel wiped out. I just finished processing the last of twelve quarts of chicken stock. Started making it yesterday. Had to let it chill overnight to get all the fat to come to the surface so I could scrape it off (yuck). Then boil the broth with the vegetables for three or four hours. Then strain. Then into the jars. Only seven will fit at once into the pressure processor. So two batches. At least twenty-five minutes to build up sufficient pressure to shake the ten-pound weight; then twenty-five minutes' processing (i.e. I sit there and make sure the weight keeps shaking consistently for twenty-five minutes), then forty-five minutes' cooling, then take out the jars, wash the processor, fill the rest of the jars, and repeat.

Yeah, I'm tired. But I do love being able to step out to the shed and grab a quart of delicious, home-made, NO SALT ADDED chicken stock when I want to make some soup.

And I make soup all the time, since I bought this wonderful cookbook called "1001 Low-Fat Soups and Stews" with all kinds of delicious recipes (and some not-so-delicious, but the dogs liked 'em). So I guess it's worth it.

And then I went into a diarists' forum and composed some lengthy remarks (when I say lengthy, I mean more than one paragraph, because writing is for me a slow and painful process, especially writing in French), and writing always tires me out.

So here I am writing some more, in order to be even more tired.

But I'm too friggin' tired to go to bed.

Ever notice how tiring it is to brush your teeth and take a bath? And to think I have to do it EVERY NIGHT for the rest of my life. It's enough to make me want to kill myself.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!