Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

1:02 p.m. - Friday, Aug. 29, 2003
For Whom the Little Travel Alarm Clock Ticks
The fan was running, and I convinced myself that it was causing that "tick-tick-tick" I was hearing as I drifted off to sleep. But after taking the dogs out for their 3:00 AM leak, I turned the fan off and the ticking went on. It was my little wind-up travel alarm clock, which I haven't wound up since the last major power failure -- about 3 weeks ago. The damn little thing just started ticking on its own.

Probably, the last time I wound it, it didn't run all the way down. Probably, some little mechanism inside got stuck and finally, last night, got itself unstuck due to a change in atmospheric pressure or the influence of Mars.

However, I prefer to think that someone from the Other Side stopped by and wound it up, just to play a trick on me. It was a playful rather than malevolent trick: the malevolent trick would have been to wind it up and SET THE ALARM. I'd like to think it was Andy. Maybe on the Other Side, dogs have thumbs.

*********************************

My mind is so sparsely furnished with words. I am simply astonished by all these other diarists who churn out lengthy entries every day. I think I'm writing a whole lot, and when I look at the finished page it's a few short paragraphs. My mind is flooded with images and ideas but barren of words. When I try to put the images into words, it comes out like the rough draft of a skeleton outline. Pathetic.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!