Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

10:28 a.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2003
*sigh*
You know what irritates me? Diaries that have pictures of young, stereotypically beautiful, naked women as part of the template. I don't read those diaries.* Call me prejudiced, but I don't believe that someone who uses such a standard-issue image has anything out of the ordinary to say.

That's my rant for the day.

*******************************************

I came home last night to find the liquid propane delivery thingie in my door, which means the bill will be arriving soon. Just another reminder of the financial burdens of being a property owner. But I've been thinking, lately, that I have to give more money to the Nancy Skinner and Howard Dean campaigns.

It's been several months now that I've been trying like heck to economize. Being a spendthrift by nature, it's not easy, but I've been doing it. I am trying to get into a situation where I can quit my job for a year, and since my spendthrift nature, oddly enough, shares my brain with a financially prudent, responsible adult (who the hell she is, I don't know), I can't feel able to quit my job until my car is paid off and I have a year's worth of basic living expenses in my checking account. I'm not going to break into my savings or my 401(k) to finance a pipe dream.

Anyway, I figured it would take me at least a year and a half to get to that point. A year and a half of economizing, a year and a half of enduring the soul-crushing boredom of my job.

And now I'm facing up to the hard fact that I simply can't economize where politics are concerned. It's too important. My stupid little pipe dreams don't mean anything in the big picture. So I have to put them on hold, and since I'm useless at anything except coughing up cash, I have to cough up cash. To the point where it hurts. Ouch. This is depressing.

_______________________

OK, I make an exception for miss-edith. Sue me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!