Welcome to Crazytown


Population: Me

Older Entries

Newest Entry

1:14 p.m. - Thursday, Jul. 24, 2003
I'm Sick, and I'm Ill, Too
I have made an appointment to see a doctor tomorrow. As much as I hate to admit I'm sick, as much as I HATE going to the doctor, ... this morning I took a flashlight and looked at my tonsils, and what I saw scared the hell out of me.

My father wants to me come over to his house to meet my two half-sisters, whom I may or may not have ever met before -- I don't remember -- but (a) I am too sick, and (b) if they are anything like my half-brother and his family, God spare me. Decent enough people, I mean, but dull, dull, dull. I am dull enough on my own without going to sit around dully with other dullards.

Time goes by so fast. It was only last December, or maybe it was the December before, that I found out I had more than one half-sibling. It had been kept from me at my mother's request. My mother, who was fond of imaging that I was too fragile to be let in on little family secrets like a herd of half-siblings, or the death of my dog when I was away at school. And yet she never considered me too fragile to make fun of. Odd. I'll never really understand why she was the way she was. She has been dead for 16 1/2 years now. If I meet her in the Great Beyond, I'll ask her, but likely it won't matter to me then. Nonetheless, I'll ask her, out of idle curiosity, and to make conversation, because eternity must be got through somehow, as Samuel Johnson might say.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!